PDA

View Full Version : Balance of Planetside

Derv
2003-02-05, 08:48 AM
I know that I am no expert of the game, but I have heard that if one of the empires is better than the others, then the Game Managers will modify stuff like how good the guns are in order to balance it out. Is this true? And if so, will the amount of modification be significant so that it will be noticed? I don't think that this would be a good idea, just because there aren't many people that may want to join one of the empires which will make them not as good, doesn't mean that you should make each of them better than each of on of the other empires. I guess I kinda have the idea that if the ratio of Terran:NC:VS is like 3:2:1, then the empires will be balanced so that the Terran guns are the worst, the NC guns stay the same, and the VS guns are the best. Maybe what I have heard was completely wrong or I have morphed it significantly. Let me know.

Ludio
2003-02-05, 08:53 AM
The game is supposed to be COMPLETELY balanced. It doesn't mean that it will be, but the devs will do their best to assure that the different empires don't have any advantage over another.

They have different play styles, but they balance out overall.

And that info you heard about the ratios is wrong. No one knows what will happen when the game comes out, but it will probably be 1:1:1.

TeamR
2003-02-05, 08:57 AM
Well, as you know, nowhting at this point is set in stone but Dave has commented on this and it wont be that radical. As I understand (and I could be wrong to) there will be a slight xp bonus when an empire is outnumbered, but that wont be global. Heres an example: If a bunch of outfits get together and decide to take over all the bases on a continent, and by the end of it they outnumber TR and VS soldiers 6 to 1, they wont get much experience points because of their huge numbers.