PDA

View Full Version : will PS run om my comp?


Shadow
2003-02-05, 01:49 PM
ok my comp specs are:

700mhz =(
586MB ram
Gforce4 64mb card

the only think thats holding me back is my CPU speed, but in DAOC (Dark Age Of Camelot) the system specs for it is almost the same with the x-pansion and it runs fine so im hoping the ram will save me here also. Thank you =)

Navaron
2003-02-05, 02:40 PM
Not well.

Can you play BF1942 online? On a 64 player server?

Civilian
2003-02-05, 03:11 PM
It will run it, but it will perform very poorly. You can buy a nice mobo-cpu combo at Monarch:

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=M&Category_Code=COM

If you want to play PS, you will need a significant upgrade.

Sputty
2003-02-05, 04:47 PM
You might be able to paly it but set everything to minimum settings and you'll still with lag.

Navaron
2003-02-05, 04:51 PM
Monarch is where I bought my shit

Sputty
2003-02-05, 04:55 PM
I mgith upgrade my stuff there too.

Navaron
2003-02-05, 05:01 PM
They're tech support is great. I get my shit in fri or saturday.........

which reminds me....

Shadow
2003-02-06, 10:45 AM
Well the thing is i dont want to buy a whole new comp i just wanna upgrade the speed. SO maybe i could get a new mother board but then again i dont want to get onw then it doesnt fit...Anyone can help with this?

Civilian
2003-02-06, 11:37 AM
SO maybe i could get a new mother board but then again i dont want to get onw then it doesnt fit...Anyone can help with this?

That's why I suggested the combo. If you want to go with AMD, go here:

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=AMDXP&Category_Code=AMDC

All of the boards offered in the pull-down menu work with AMD processors. I and I'm sure Nav would recommend the NForce board, and then choose which-ever processor works with your pocket-book. Preferably 2100+ and up.

If you want Intel processors, go here:

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=INTELP4-478&Category_Code=INTELC

Once again, all of the boards offered in the pull-down menu work with Intel processors. Gigabyte and Asus are probably the best boards offered, although you will need RAMBUS ram for a couple of their boards, and that will cost you more in the long-run.

It's a pretty simple process to upgrade, if you need any help just come and ask ;)

Shadow
2003-02-06, 01:44 PM
OK Thanks, my proceeser is celeron.
BUt AMD is very good for gaming i know. =) just wnat to know if thier borads run on SDram cuz that what im using at the moment. sorry for the newb questions hehe.

Civilian
2003-02-06, 01:55 PM
The Biostar M7VKQ is the only I see there that runs SDRAM. Here are some reviews of that board:

http://secure.newegg.com/app/CustratingReview.asp?item=13-138-201

Shadow
2003-02-06, 03:10 PM
ahhh looks nice but i only see it on newegg its not on the other site u gave me. enither way my 18th birday next week so i have my mom it it for me =)

Civilian
2003-02-06, 03:21 PM
It's on there, but it's only in the "Boards Below Only Work Up To 2400+". It looks like this:

110667 - Biostar M7KVQ VT8361 Video/Lan/Audio PC133 $50.00

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=AMDXP&Category_Code=AMDC

See if you can convince your mom to get you an Asus NForce2 and a nice AMD processor. I don't know alot about AMD, so maybe someone else could tell which is the best processor value. If I were wanting an upgrade, but needed my parents to buy it for me, I would tell them how much cheaper it would be in the long-run to spend $500 on a new mobo/processor combo than it would to wait a year and have your PC crap out. ;)

Good luck

Shadow
2003-02-07, 08:14 AM
ok last quetion hehe, so if i ge tthe Bistar that would be good enough to run PS right? this borad faster tehen 900mhz? =)

Civilian
2003-02-07, 10:05 AM
Well, according to the reviews on NewEgg, that board isn't the greatest for gaming. I would recommend taking the boards available on the list and then doing a search at NewEgg to look for reviews. Unfortunately, you will probably end up having to go with a board that supports DDR rather than SDRAM. You can also use Motherboards.org:

http://www.motherboards.org/rank/AMD/total/motherboard-rank.html

http://www.newegg.com/index.asp