PDA

View Full Version : Processors


ABRAXAAS
2003-02-17, 03:33 PM
I cant decide on what processor to get for my new system either a AMD athalon xp 2500 or P4 2.4 ghz there about the same price but I know amd is a better processor but its the ghz that keeps making me waiver anyone have any ideas ?

Yuyi
2003-02-17, 03:54 PM
Originally posted by ABRAXAAS
I know amd is a better processor

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

mistled
2003-02-17, 03:59 PM
don't laugh yuyi. amd is a better processor for gaming. It's more geared for graphics than the p4's are.

I don't know about how those two particular cpus match up, but in gaming benchmarks, the 2800 beats the p4 3.06 even though it only clocks at like 2.2

Sputty
2003-02-17, 04:02 PM
If money isn't an objct then you shouild consider getting a really high clocked P4. Now that the AMD is getting up to that range they're slowing down but if you're going from something then you could get thte 2800+XP. They're still fast. When AMD gets any higher than that they start to slow down.

mistled
2003-02-17, 04:05 PM
Originally posted by Sputty
When AMD gets any higher than that they start to slow down. Wha??:huh:

Sputty
2003-02-17, 04:12 PM
Well, the new barton or whtever is hardly a notivcealbe imporovemtn in the stats let alone actual playing. I'm sure the Barton will be unnoticeable. in improvements to the 2800+

ABRAXAAS
2003-02-17, 04:12 PM
well it only needs to tide me over untill doom3 comes out then Ill buy the fastest thing I can find then :D

Zatrais
2003-02-17, 04:16 PM
The new athalon Thoroughbred "B" chips.... they well suck, they offer virtually nothing new and they're still based on 5 year old technology. You'll also need to be sure you get a proper motherboard that supports the 166mhz FSB they use (nforce 2, sis 745 or a VIA KT333+. Be sure to get one whit a proper bios). Can be a headache, some suppliers have reported instability whit the newer chips.

The P4 2.4 also beats the amd 2500 in most tests, they're fairly close but overall the p2.4 wins by a slim margin.

The Thoroughbred "B" chips also generate well HUGE amounts of heat.

I'd go whit the P4 if i where you. (i'm assuming you're buying now, not when the barton core comes out. The barton core also sucks but it can be OC'd, alott.)

On a personal side note, i would stay away from buying AMD til the Hammer core comes out. Pentium will have the lead til then. After that, who knows, the new 200mhz pentium FSB's will be out and there will be some real competition between AMD and intel again.

Edit: show me a test where AMD has annything that beats the P4 3.06 GHZ please, i havn't found a single test or review that supports AMD beating it.

ABRAXAAS
2003-02-17, 04:29 PM
well im buying this
AMD ATHLON XP 2500+ 512K 333FSB BARTON OEM

Zatrais
2003-02-17, 04:35 PM
*shrug* your call..

be sure to get a hell of a cooling fan and a nice big 400w+ Power supply.

e n d e r
2003-02-17, 04:45 PM
AMD!!!!!!!!!!

ABRAXAAS
2003-02-17, 04:47 PM
Originally posted by Zatrais
*shrug* your call..

be sure to get a hell of a cooling fan and a nice big 400w+ Power supply.

Already done :D

BLuE_ZeRO
2003-02-17, 07:10 PM
Abrax why didn't you get the fastest one now and save yourself the money you would have to spend on another processor.

ABRAXAAS
2003-02-17, 07:11 PM
Cause I dont have the money now Im broke but I can save up and the only time I will need a faster one is when doom3 comes out

BLuE_ZeRO
2003-02-17, 07:38 PM
alright I guess...

ABRAXAAS
2003-02-17, 07:45 PM
My problem is my motherboard its hooped so Im buyin a new one with a new processor and ram cause thats all i need and then Ill max it out when I get more cash ;)

Subliminal
2003-02-17, 09:05 PM
I havent found anything saying doom will require more then 1ghz. I may or may not have the leaked demo and it may or may not run very well with my 1800+ :D

ABRAXAAS
2003-02-17, 09:09 PM
well the leaked" pre alpha build" was in no way optimized because it wasnt a demo , but I wanna make sure I can run it full tilt with eveything maxed out so I squeeze evey last bit of goodness out of it :D

mistled
2003-02-17, 09:15 PM
Originally posted by Zatrais
Edit: show me a test where AMD has annything that beats the P4 3.06 GHZ please, i havn't found a single test or review that supports AMD beating it. I think I've thrown the mag away already, so I can't pull you numbers, but it was Computer Games Magazine that compared the two in it's Feb issue (http://www.cgonline.com/cgm/200302-m1.html).

They didn't do an apples to apples test like you might want though. They took an AMD 2800+ in a really damn good board and a p4 3.06 in a really damn good intel board and compared the two. I'm not even sure if they used the same kind of memory or not, but I'm thinking not. I think they just put together two really good machines like someone might buy together and compared the two. The other stuff was all the same I think though (hard drive, case, graphics card, sound card, etc).

Basically, in the gaming tests, the AMD either beat or was very very close to the p4 in every category.

Don't get me wrong though, in other tests, such as digital video processing and things, the p4 blew it away because of the hyperthreading the p4 has starting with the 3.06 chip.

It all boiled down to that for overall performance the p4 won. But for just gaming stuff, the amd was at least as good, if not better, and it was about $400 cheaper at the time of their tests.

Navaron
2003-02-17, 09:24 PM
my amd 2700+ pwns all.

ABRAXAAS
2003-02-17, 09:31 PM
what exact processor do you have nav

BLuE_ZeRO
2003-02-18, 03:23 AM
I believe the AMD Athlon XP 2700 is the processor he has :brow:

Zatrais
2003-02-18, 06:28 AM
The price difference between P4's and AMD's has shrinked alott lately, just did a quick check on my local suppliers website and the average difference was $20 here... I don't think price is such a huge reason to go AMD annymore.

Just that there are so manny people out there who are AMD for lyfe, P4 suxxz0rs when infact Intel has the lead atm for pretty close to the same price.

I just want the Hammerchipsets to come out... AMD will be back in buisness then and it'll have a condentender to intels 200Mhz FBS chips thats comming out soon. actual speed will be 800mhz thanks to the quad technology that intel uses...

Should be an interesting time for CPU's in the next months =)

btw, HT is also comming for more and more games, making the pentiums even better.

powdahound
2003-02-18, 07:40 AM
Originally posted by Zatrais
*shrug* your call..

be sure to get a hell of a cooling fan and a nice big 400w+ Power supply.

I just got a tbred and it's MUCH cooler than my palomino was... tbreds are not THAT hot. :p The other thing is that while amds generate more heat than intels, they are designed to! the temperature diode is also located IN the cpu, not under it, so the readings appear to be much hotter. sure you'll see higher temps in windows or bios, but it's all relative to the CPU itself, you can't bash amd for it.

mistled
2003-02-18, 08:06 AM
:stupid:

Zatrais
2003-02-18, 08:07 AM
I'm not bashing AMD.... AMD's get hotter than pentiums and requires more cooling. colder the better ya know.

edit: if you have some CPU's to waste, run a AMD and a pentium chip whitout a cooling fan and see who melts first.... hehe, AMD one will go down first, tho AMD has gotten a hell of alott better whit the temp of their chips but they still run at higher temps than pentiums and need a good fan for cooling.

Lexington_Steele
2003-02-18, 09:12 AM
Intel for life. The chipsets that go along with AMDs are incompatable with just too much hardware.

OneManArmy
2003-02-18, 09:23 AM
really lexington? I have never once had a problem using AMD chipsets EVER. (Granted I started using AMD after my PIII got to old, but arn't we talking about the new ones anyways?)

the new AMD chips have the 333mhz FSB and the price difference is not $20, its more like $35 :p ;)

Zatrais
2003-02-18, 09:34 AM
New and new, the AMDs still use the socket a... 5 year old technology for their newest chipsets, the bartons.. P4 chips are 400mh or 533mhz FSB whit the next ones at 800mhz.

As for price difference, depends on supplier apperantly... at the online store where i buy the difference was an average of $20.

mistled
2003-02-18, 09:46 AM
We do all realize that I was talking about the price difference between the 2800 and the 3.06, right??

Pricewatch has the 2800 at $380 and the 3.06 at $610

Lexington_Steele
2003-02-18, 03:56 PM
Originally posted by OneManArmy
really lexington? I have never once had a problem using AMD chipsets EVER. (Granted I started using AMD after my PIII got to old, but arn't we talking about the new ones anyways?)

the new AMD chips have the 333mhz FSB and the price difference is not $20, its more like $35 :p ;)
Quite a bit of high end audio and video recording hardware will not work with AMD chipsets. I have personally never read about similar hardware having any problems with intel chipsets.

For example:
I replace my Echo Darla sound card (8 channel in/out @24bit 96kHz) with a RME Hammerfall which has a spdif in, spdif out and 6 ADAT litepipe optical I/Os (can handle 52 channels @ 24 bit 96 kHz).

I sold the Darla to a friend that had an AMD. Whenever he tried to use it it crashed his computer. We could not figure out for the life of us why it did that. Eventually, after scouring Echo's site we discovered that the card would not work with a number of AMD chipsets.

Since then I have discovered an number of cards that have incompatability with AMD chipsets.

High end audio and video production software and hardware are generally designed with Pentiums in mind.

mistled
2003-02-18, 04:08 PM
hmm... learn something new every day

OneManArmy
2003-02-18, 04:16 PM
amen. ah well All I do is game so, allow me to rephrase to I have never had a problem with the average gamers hardware, (sound blasters, turtle beach, etc...)

Lexington_Steele
2003-02-18, 04:17 PM
Originally posted by {BOHICA}mistled
hmm... learn something new every day

Unfortunately, if you are really interested in high end audio and video you should get a Mac. :(

mistled
2003-02-18, 04:18 PM
Originally posted by Lexington_Steele
Unfortunately, if you are really interested in high end audio and video you should get a Mac. :( true

powdahound
2003-02-18, 04:46 PM
For gaming AMD is what you want. :) Besides, the new nForce chipsets are AWESOME and are really helping AMD. They're way better than VIA is. :)

Navaron
2003-02-18, 05:22 PM
nForce boards are AMAZING.

Zatrais
2003-02-18, 06:22 PM
nForce2 boards are amasing yeah... one of the best, if not the best AMD board chipset there is.

BLuE_ZeRO
2003-02-19, 12:01 PM
Originally posted by powdahound
For gaming AMD is what you want. :) Besides, the new nForce chipsets are AWESOME and are really helping AMD. They're way better than VIA is. :)

Actually for gaming Intel and AMD are pretty much dead even now. The only thing that sets the two apart are the mobos available for each now. The new nforce2 chipset based boards are like powda said amazing but testers have been basically forced to rate the features of motherboards available to the two and the cost of the processors to even make a decision.

powdahound
2003-02-19, 05:37 PM
I'm on a 2100+ right now, OCed to 2.0ghz and it's idling at 43c, I just ran 3dmark03 and it maxed at 45c... Pfft to whoever says AMDs are hot or bad for OCing. :) Just giving some facts, not trying to start a war. :)

BLuE_ZeRO
2003-02-19, 05:55 PM
Originally posted by powdahound
I'm on a 2100+ right now, OCed to 2.0ghz and it's idling at 43c, I just ran 3dmark03 and it maxed at 45c... Pfft to whoever says AMDs are hot or bad for OCing. :) Just giving some facts, not trying to start a war. :)

Well it is a proven fact that AMDs get a bit hotter than Intels. If you have decent cooling on your cpu it should be fine depending on the amount you OC it.

Athlon XP 2100 runs at like 1.7 ghz so it's about .3 ghz jump which is substantial but it won't produce insane amounts of heat.

powdahound
2003-02-19, 06:21 PM
Originally posted by BLuE_ZeRO
Athlon XP 2100 runs at like 1.7 ghz so it's about .3 ghz jump which is substantial but it won't produce insane amounts of heat.

Indeed, now all I need to do is unlock it. :] It was running at these same temps without the OC... Can't complain. :)

BLuE_ZeRO
2003-02-19, 06:41 PM
no you can't :brow:

Marlboro Man!!
2003-02-26, 05:37 PM
how do you overclock your machine i have a 1.3 ghz athlon xp 1500,MMX, 3D now, and would like to pump out a little more but the fan is like 8 + months old (even though they say there good for life there not) . Im not sure what motherboard i have but since this comp is 8 + months old would it be good to do?but i dont want to do it if it will explode melt and just flat out crap the bed on me. thnx

Marlboro Man

AeoNELiTe
2003-02-27, 12:48 PM
either Processor is fast, although its true that the AMD are more geared to graphics then the pentiums. Are you buying a motherboard too? If your not, you most likely won't have a choice short of replacing the motherboard. Maybe you should decide on that....

Skizerz
2012-11-17, 10:40 PM
would a phenom ii 945 quad 3.2 ghz suffice?

MrSmegz
2012-11-18, 04:38 AM
would a phenom ii 945 quad 3.2 ghz suffice?

Dude you just necro'd a post from a decade ago to ask this. Lol.

4 year old AMD CPU's will struggle with PS2 in big fights, hell even some of the new AMD stuff does too. Intel i5's are the way to go if you are considering and upgrade

Morsong
2012-11-18, 07:35 AM
Dude you just necro'd a post from a decade ago to ask this. Lol.

4 year old AMD CPU's will struggle with PS2 in big fights, hell even some of the new AMD stuff does too. Intel i5's are the way to go if you are considering and upgrade

rofl my thought exactly. I saw the first page and was like...p4s??? then I saw the date thank god :rofl:

Goku
2012-11-18, 10:56 AM
would a phenom ii 945 quad 3.2 ghz suffice?

I suggest doing better searching next time. This thread is nearly a decade old...