PDA

View Full Version : Howto: Overclock GeForce Cards


powdahound
2003-02-28, 05:52 PM
<font color=red>
This is for nVidia cards AND Radeon cards. On first writing I did not know it would work for Radeon cards but I guess it does. :) Thanks Zatrais

Disclaimer: You can break your card doing this if you go really overboard with it. Do this at your own risk! I do not claim to be an overclocking pro and Iím sure this is not the only way to do this! If you have any suggestions/tips/comments please reply!</font>

<b>Step 1:</b> Download and install RivaTuner (http://www.guru3d.com/rivatuner/)

<b>Step 2:</b> Open RivaTuner and in the main window click on the following icon:
<img src="http://staff.planetside-universe.com/powda/images/rivatuner/riva1.gif">

<b>Step 3:</b> Doing so will open the following screen:
<img src="http://staff.planetside-universe.com/powda/images/rivatuner/riva4.gif">

Check the box at the top and you should receive the following prompt:
<img src="http://staff.planetside-universe.com/powda/images/rivatuner/riva3.gif">

Hit reboot. Once rebooted reopen RivaTuner and return to the screen in step 2.

<b>Step 4:</b> The screen should now look similar to this (minus the red boxes):
<img src="http://staff.planetside-universe.com/powda/images/rivatuner/riva2.gif">

Make sure both boxes are checked!

The numbers to the left of the small icons are the current speeds in mhz of your Core Clock and Memory Clock. Depending on your card these will start out at different speeds. My Gainward GeForce 4 ti4400 defaults to 274mhz/553mhz (Core/Memory speeds). This is where the overclocking fun begins. :)

<b>Step 5:</b> We are going to raise these core and memory speeds as high as possible while keeping the card stable. If you set either of these too high it could result in artifacts or tears in 3d applications. It can also cause games to crash or lock up at certain points. Overclocking also generates heat and for this purpose you will need to stress test your card after EVERY change you make.

<b>Step 6:</b> First weíll start with the core clock. Raise the slider about 5mhz and then hit ĎTestí. This will set your core speed 5mhz higher (no need to reboot). Now hit ĎApplyí and then ĎOKí. You can leave the main RivaTuner window open. Now that your core clock has been raised 5mhz you need to go load up a graphically intensive game (I use the Unreal Tournament 2003 demo with the outdoor map (The 3dmark tests also work very well. Iíll run 3dmark2001 at 1600x1200 or the new 3dmark03 test for one or two tests sometimes. This seems to work just as well as a game, especially 3dmark03 because itís very intensive). Just go play a game for about 30 minutes or run a few 3dmark tests and if you donít see any artifacts or tearing, and the game doesnít crash, youíre ok. This might seem like a lot of work, and it is. :) Just keep raising the core clock by 5mhz or so until you reach a point where your game/benchmark starts locking up or showing signs of tearing. When this happens, go back to RivaTuner and set the core clock back to the last stable speed.

<b>NOTE</b>: You canít always raise it in exact 5mhz intervals. When you hit ĎTestí it will set the speed to the nearest it can. If it seems to keep resetting to the last value you were using try 10mhz or 15mhz above instead of 5mhz. You should hit a point where it will skip to a higher value instead of the one you were just using. This can be annoying, but itís just the way things work.

<b>Step 7:</b> Once you have your core clock raised as far as it will go, do the exact same thing for the memory clock. Just raise it by 5mhz and test each time. You should now be at a point that is the limit of both core clock and memory clock. This is probably as high as you will be able to overclock with your current drivers and system. Some drivers are better for overclocking than others but Iíll let you investigate because I havenít found any that really stand out. Newer is usually better though!

<b>Step 8:</b> Thatís all Iíll talk about for now, please share any tips you have and also post your results if you have overclocked! (Your card, your starting speeds, and what you were able to get to. Maybe even change in 3dmark score) I was able to get my ti4400 from 274mhz/553mhz to 310mhz/648mhz. :) Some cards will overclock better than others, so donít jump straight to some settings somebody else with your card got. You should still work your way up slowly to avoid damaging your card. Good luck!

Format
2003-02-28, 06:23 PM
Nice stuff man :thumbsup: I dont think ill need to do that once i get my new 3.06Ghz comp. Well...maybe..

DarkDragon00
2003-03-01, 11:00 AM
Terran Elite Airborne Regiment


Yeah most people do it for props or fun. I just dont want to have to buy another one!!!

-Dark- CO [TEAR]

Zatrais
2003-03-02, 04:27 PM
This overclocking guide will work whit the radeon series of cards also. Can follow the steps outlines by powda whit a Radeon 7500 card (RV200 core) or newer.

btw, GREAT work on it powda! =)

skin
2003-03-02, 08:12 PM
and dont forget to keep those fire extinguishers ready
:o

SpaceDrake
2003-03-02, 09:12 PM
Right. You can literally melt the silicon of your graphics card if you crank it up too high, too fast. If you're really serious about overclocking get a good fan/heatsink combo ( or buy a card that has one pre-equipped (http://firingsquad.gamers.com/hardware/tachyon9700/page3.asp)) and make sure that it's firmly attached before ramping up.

TGF NightHawk
2003-03-02, 09:32 PM
Is that a ss of your pc info(in your examples)? Noticed for your drivers, you have version 42.68...if so where did you get them?!;)

powdahound
2003-03-02, 09:49 PM
Originally posted by TGF NightHawk
Is that a ss of your pc info(in your examples)? Noticed for your drivers, you have version 42.68...if so where did you get them?!;)

www.guru3d.com

TGF NightHawk
2003-03-03, 07:54 PM
Thanks Powda...I too have GeForce 4 Ti 4400, don't know much about overclocking. Is there any major differences that you can tell/see by overclocking? Such as graphics, etc.?
;)

Yetskii
2003-03-10, 10:58 PM
I personally used the geforce tweak utility found here: http://download.guru3d.com/pafiledb.php?action=file&id= 164

Same thing as rivatuner....

Yetskii
2003-03-10, 11:07 PM
Originally posted by TGF NightHawk
Thanks Powda...I too have GeForce 4 Ti 4400, don't know much about overclocking. Is there any major differences that you can tell/see by overclocking? Such as graphics, etc.?
;)

Overclocking will give you more frame per second. In alot of games you may not even notice it. But on games that seem a little "laggy" in the video area can definitly benefit from this. When you overclock there are 2 components you are raising the frequency(clock speed) of. They are the core and the memory. Generally a memory over clock will give you more of a boost than a core overclock, beacause the card can pass more textures faster.....find a good combination of both. If you find that you lock up after playing for a few, turn down the speed....I know powda alrady explained things but I am just adding my 2 cents...

Also look for video tearing. Generally it will look like the game "ripped" in a few places here and there. Tearing usually indicates that your memory is clocked to high and is heating up too much. When this happens lower the memory speed a little and try again.

I have a geforce3 ti200 that came stock core 175/memory 400. I clocked it to core 240/memory 500....I now have a geforce 3 ti500.....one thing to note, is that I have extra cooling to help me along...bigger heatsinks for the memory and core, as well as a larger fan on the core....

Be very cautious when overclocking, becasue if you do it wrong you can fry your card......Take it slow..start out with giving everything 10 mhz and test and so on......when things get screwy, back it down 5 mhz and try there....


I picked up about 2000 3dmark scores, but that also has to do with my cpu overclocking...I believe I got about 1000 with just video overclocking....

Big Bro
2003-03-11, 08:01 AM
I tried to follow your directions there, powda and seemed successful, but got some strange results.

My system, without overclocking gets 9988 3DMark2001 Score.

My system, overclocked 5MHz gets 9870 3DMark2001 Score.

My system, overclocked 10MHz gets 9760 3DMark2001 Score.

See a trend?

:(

Also, is this a good score in the first place? I mean should I be messing around if it's already > 9k?

Yetskii
2003-03-11, 09:26 AM
Bro, what did you overclock? Normally your scores shoudl go up when you overclock. Was it core, memory or cpu....

Big Bro
2003-03-13, 12:09 PM
I have an AMD XP 2100+, 1GB PC2700 DDR, and GeForce 4 Ti 4200 w/128MB. I haven't done any overclocking at all up to this point.

I followed the directions and upped only my G4 Core speed by 5 MHz increments. My reported benchmarks are the results...

Destroyeron
2003-03-15, 11:43 AM
sigh, I hate gateway, they 'forgot' to attach my AGP slot! Now I have crappy graphics. Anyone know if you can get an AGP slot put onto a motherboard, its got a space there, it just isn't there. Damn gateway, I wanna overclock lol.

NoSurrender
2003-03-29, 12:12 AM
Yea thats the probelm i had intergrated til i got my Ati All In Wonder 8500 64mb which is overclocked and im 2 lazy 2 check by how much at this hr but ATI RULES!!!! W000ty w00ty w00t w00t oh and btw i got a questin im gonna bulid a new comp should i hold off on speakers and save up for a nice set or get some so so creatives and save up (btw id use headphones i got a good pair)

Hunter83
2003-03-29, 12:10 PM
To overclock vid cards, I prefer to use PowerStrip (http://www.entechtaiwan.com/ps.htm).

It works for virtually every GFX card and you never need to restart ur PC when using it.

PowerStrip 3.30 provides advanced, multi-monitor, programmable hardware support to a wide range of graphics cards - from the venerable Matrox Millennium I to the latest SiS Xabre and Radeon 9700. It is in fact the only program of its type to support multiple graphics cards from multiple chipset vendors, simultaneously, under every Windows operating system from Windows 95 to XP. A simple menu that pops up from the system tray provides access to some 500 controls over your display hardware, including sophisticated color correction tools, period level adjustments over screen geometry, and driver independent clock controls. A powerful application profiler can detect when programs are launched and respond by activating specific display settings, gamma adjustments, performance switches and even clock speeds - returning everything to normal when the program closes. In-game gamma hotkeys let you light up the darkest hallways during game play, and hardware control over refresh rates - with floating point precision - ensure you're never stuck at just 60Hz no matter what OS you're using. A quick setup wizard gets you up and running with minimal fuss, extensive context-sensitive help is available for all controls, and live updates are supported to ensure you're always running the latest release. Finally, an assortment of system and productivity tools - among them, extensive diagnostics, AGP device configuration, desktop icon management, a system idle thread, Windows resource monitoring, physical memory optimization, an on-screen display, and the most advanced monitor support in the industry - round out the compact 600kb package.

I never use anything else to overclock my cards.

NoSurrender
2003-03-29, 12:16 PM
yea me 2 powerstrip is the best and its free (but u can buy full version the free just has like a add at bootup

Hunter83
2003-03-29, 05:04 PM
I use the free one and all I get at bootup is "Tip of the Day" for 5 secs.

NoSurrender
2003-03-29, 07:39 PM
yea me 2 the longer u use it the longer u wait after a while :vsrocks: :cheers:

Hunter83
2003-03-29, 10:42 PM
Are you sure? It's been 5 seconds for me for over a year now.

Krogen
2003-06-02, 10:30 AM
All right. Now how do you overclock your CPU on your motherboard? (Without messing up stuff...)

powdahound
2003-06-07, 09:41 AM
That's in your bios. I'm not posting anything about that because it is too easy to mess stuff up. :) There is plenty of info to be found on google.com!

Conceptor
2003-07-15, 10:37 PM
ok ummm i have a ati radeon 9700 pro (no extra heatsinks or new fan on it).... about how much do you think i would be able to overclock that without it overheating for sure? cause id like to smooth out my gameplay a bit with the AA on max

powdahound
2003-07-16, 08:12 AM
There is no way to pick the magic number out of the air, you'd have to OC until it you hit your limit. :)

Conceptor
2003-07-16, 03:13 PM
so much for my experimentation lol.... i overclocked the core by 15 and the memory by 5 and ended up getting colored squares all over the sky in battlefield 1942.... put the setings back to normal and the squares went away.... 15 and 5 mhz are too small an increase to even bother i suppose....

(used a 9700 pro, with nothing but the fan that came with it for all those curious ATI fans) the temp display on my case read 88.5 on average.

Conceptor
2003-07-17, 02:46 AM
i just bought some of those goldplated heatpipes and heatsinks for my processor and video card.... now maybe i can do some damage ;) (hopefully not to my computer but to the choppy framerates)

Stealth Tiger
2003-07-27, 03:33 AM
Can I use any driver for my GeForce or do I have to stay at what they say riva tuner is supported? I kept getting a message about my driver has not been tested on riva tuner so I went to the newest driver that it supports but I want my new driver but I also don't want to screw up my card too. If I replace my driver will I have to overclock again or will me setting stay where the are? If anyone has a GeForce 4 MX440SE 64MB DDR PCI card post your original speeds here. My card was originally 249/166MHz that seems alittle under clocked for a GeForce 4.

GeistX
2003-08-21, 02:39 PM
More good info here:

http://www.tweak3d.net

Indecisive
2003-09-03, 11:16 AM
Can anyone recommend a good driver version for a GF4 ti2600 ( i think thats the number)

TeraHertz
2003-10-31, 03:21 AM
Whats all that about downloading programs?
Why do that when the Geforce drivers come with an overclocking utility:

THE FOLLOWING ONLY WORKS FOR NVIDIA CARDS.


go to START/RUN and enter "REGEDIT" into the prompt. Hit enter.
go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak
right-click inside the right pane, and choose New and DWORD value.
Name the value "Coolbits" . Right click on Coolbits, and choose modify. Change the Value data to "3", and click OK. Reboot your pc, and Coolbits is activated.
Right click on your desktop, got ot properties/settings tab/advanced/your GFX card's tab/ and look for the overclocking bit.

OverClock
2003-11-10, 08:23 AM
Hi,

Here are my OverClock/3DMark2001 results.

3DMark Version 2001 Second Edition (330)


AMD 1.2Ghz -- GeForce 3 TI500 64MB DDR -- System-mem: 256 MD DDR (200 Mhz)
4371 3D Marks
GeForce 3 TI500 @ 234 Core Mhz - 500 Memory Mhz
Full Stable Setting! (These are the standard settings)

AMD 1.32Ghz -- GeForce 3 TI500 64MB DDR -- System-mem: 256 MD DDR (220 Mhz)
4839 3D Marks
GeForce 3 TI500 @ 249.5 Core Mhz - 544.1 Memory Mhz
Full Stable Setting!

AMD 1.33Ghz -- GeForce 3 TI500 64MB DDR -- System-mem: 256 MD DDR (222 Mhz)
4891 3D Marks
GeForce 3 TI500 @ 249.5 Core Mhz - 544.1 Memory Mhz
Full Stable Setting!

I used no extra fans or so. When I do install extra fans, can I tune it up even more?

Marco.

TeraHertz
2003-12-09, 04:45 AM
Um, you're not getting much improvement. If I were you I'd just put everything back to normal before you break something.

I melted a GPU once. Wasn't good.

undetected
2004-01-05, 05:22 PM
now will i (a 12 year old) be able to do this without screwin up my computer, (my dad would go balistic), while getting a real noticable difference? these are my system specs: http://www.planetside-universe.com/forums/showthread.php?p=286850#post286850

TeraHertz
2004-01-18, 11:29 PM
now will i (a 12 year old) be able to do this without screwin up my computer, (my dad would go balistic), while getting a real noticable difference? these are my system specs: http://www.planetside-universe.com/forums/showthread.php?p=286850#post286850


I would not recommend overclocking to anyone who does not own their own hardware. As I said, I once melted my gfx card. Ask your dad to do it, if he doesnt want to, leave it.

The improvement will depend on the card, and yes you might see a noticable, but not gigantic difference.

NoSurrender
2004-01-18, 11:39 PM
tera hes using intergrated. dont even try.

martyr
2004-01-20, 11:06 PM
http://www.brentroad.com/photos/00059060.jpg

Sokko
2004-02-21, 11:24 AM
^^^ LOL, I sure hope that liquid is something that doesn't conduct electricity... ZAP!

I overclocked my GeForce once, and actually experienced a performance decrease, so I switched it back to normal. I'm still wondering if underclocking it would give me still better performance, but I doubt it. :D

HunterKiller
2004-03-20, 09:05 PM
http://www.aceshardware.com/

For all your Hardware needs.