PDA

View Full Version : Headphone has gone mono, anyone know a fix?

Death2All
2012-06-20, 07:43 AM
The right earpiece in the current headset I own no longer plays sound. I have had this problem with literally every headset I've ever owned. Eventually after enough time they just give out.

It's my understanding that a lot of headsets have faulty wiring and that after time they eventually shit out on you. In the past, I've found a fix by contorting the wire in a strange way and then taping the wire down. That would somehow power the right earpiece again. This time however, it's not the case. I can sometimes get a little bit of sound when I wiggle the wire, but it's no definite fix.

Unfortunately right now, money is a little tight and I was hoping someone could offer a fix if they have experience with this sort of thing. I'm not really tech savvy enough to the point where I think I could open the headset up and do some soldering (a suggestion I've seen for some broken headsets).

Here is the headset in question in case it helps any: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Plantronics+-+Multimedia+Stereo+Headset/9210276.p?id=1218059403490&skuId=9210276&st=headset&cp=5&lp=3

Vancha
2012-06-20, 08:52 AM
Do you ever touch the inline volume control and does sliding the wheel help any?

My old Plantronics would start shifting left/right depending on where that volume control was.

Also, any chance you're simply putting too much weight on the cable? If it keeps happening, maybe you should try something different...

Ieyasu
2012-06-20, 01:17 PM
sounds like a classic case of a broken wire from stress.

in all likelyhood the only real fix would be to open up the headsets right speaker and check the connection.