PDA

View Full Version : Ok, Ground drivers, Let us talk...

Dkamanus
2012-09-03, 07:52 AM
This is a message I made on the forums of SOE, trying to give some pointers for infantry towards tank drivers.

Hi there.

I'm doing this post as a Vanguard Driver and as a Combat medic. I saw the need to do something like this 'cause, as a tank driver, I've seem some STUPID things that I would never do (anymore at least) as an infantry. First, people need to understand. Tank drivers need space. A LOT of Space to move. Why? The way tanks are currently makes the need to move a must. We can't stand on the same spot for too much time, even more with shells being lobbed at us.

Why must I do such a thread? Me, as a combat medic, MUST mind my surroundings a lot. A dead medic is a useless medic, and therefore, I must keep on my toes. That is specially truth when I see tanks rolling in. The driver is already tasked with driving (Moving to position, avoiding getting hit by other tanks and infantry), shooting (involving the focus to calculate the shoots and all) and surivivng (which can be tough, considering the Air).

The LAST place someone will want to use as cover is the side, front or behind of a tank. Once engaged in combat, infantry simply ceases to exist and I'm commited in destroying the other tank, which could cause lots of troubles for the infantry. Today I had a big problem with that. Since I'm spending quite more time (and Certs) on my vanguard MBT, I'm using it way much more. And I saw players actually using me as cover, or either ignoring me completely.

When in combat, It's impossible for me to focus on all those things, and still the little dots that are my infantry allies. I might run people over, but most that I do think I should be paying attention more on them then on the enemy armor (ground AND air). I do consider myself a quite competent tank driver, and I use a Vanguard with the AP Turret, top armor, and AA Gun, which make me useless against infantry.