PDA

View Full Version : My New Comp, help me check things?


Strygun
2003-03-25, 08:52 PM
Hey guys, I'm going to building my own comp (for the first time!) soon and I wanted to run these items by you. Please check for any compatibiliy issues, suggestions, found it cheaper, etc...

I used pricewatch and resellerratings and googlegear for most parts:


MOBO - Asus A7N8X nVIDIA AMD ATX Audio 10/100 LAN (http://www.compuhq.com/asa7nvamdatx.html)
*
CPU - AMD AthlonXP 2700+ w/ Fan and Heatsink (http://www.googlegear.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=80175-R)
*
Memory - Corsair CMX512-2700C2 512MB DDR333 PC2700 w/ HeatSpreader (http://www.googlegear.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=80060)
*
VidCard: Albatron GeForce4 Ti4600 128MB (http://www.gameve.com/store/gameve_viewitem.asp?idproduct=480&showit=1)
*
CDRW - Asus CRW-5224A 52x24x52 CDRW IDE (http://www.computerstop.com/outlet/default.prod.asp?ItemNumber=CD-ASU11)
*
Case: Case-268 w/ Windows & 80mm fan on back. 420W power supply (http://www.ibuypower.com/parts/CASE/a268.htm)
*
HD - Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 8 or 9 6E040L0 40GB 7200RPM ATA/133 Hard Drive w/Fluid Dynamic Bearing Motors (http://www.googlegear.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=100623)
*
Some cheap mitsumi Floppy drive..
*
WinXP
*
Monitor - 19" Viewsonic Ultrabrite CRT "perfectflat screen" (http://www.bestbuy.com/detail.asp?e=11182390&m=488&cat=497&scat=500)


Altogether, this will cost $1163.89 + shipping charges (most is free w/ googlegear).

Costly but oh so delicious.....:drools:

Let me know guys! Thanks!

Trebor95
2003-03-26, 06:11 AM
nice, as my replies above/below I would suggest going for an independant heatsink/fan, perhaps something like a Thermalright SLK 800 // 900 or an SK-7 - they get awfully hot if you start increasing the volts :(

Get a cheap Lite-on CD-RW they are made by Plextor and are just as good :) they are a lot cheaper also.

go for a Radeon 9700 or 9700Pro m8 if you want a future proof card :) the performance of the 9700 is almost doubles/triple the Geforce's with AA/AF enabled in high resolutions, Planetside will look soooo good at 1280X1024 with 4XAA and 8tap+ AF :)

Zatrais
2003-03-26, 06:45 AM
I'd get another HD as D: and use the C: as an "expendable" disc where you don't keep annything you can't lose if you have to format...

Rests is pretty nice, cept i'd get a 9700 pro instead and a gig of ram hehe.

Strygun
2003-03-26, 07:10 AM
nah, no real need for my 2nd HD... I have 2 comps here now, both networked..so before a format I just run everything I want over to the other comp, then change it back later.

I will consider the 9700, and look in to those other parts.

Thanks guys!

SpacemanSpiff
2003-03-26, 11:13 AM
Great RAM choice along with your mobo... I have the 'Deluxe' version of that particular ASUS mobo myself, but I seriously doubt it'll provide me with a better gaming experience since most users would probably never use most of their awesome features.

Definitely consider getting the Radeon 9700. If you buy a GeForce card right now, the 4600 is the best choice, as it is actually a better made card than the 4800. Also, definitely consider buying another 512 Corsair thing-a-bob since it'd be great to use the mobo's dual capability.

All in all a good rig, but can it dance? :dance:

powdahound
2003-03-26, 04:15 PM
Originally posted by Trebor95
go for a Radeon 9700 or 9700Pro m8 if you want a future proof card :) the performance of the 9700 is almost doubles/triple the Geforce's with AA/AF enabled in high resolutions, Planetside will look soooo good at 1280X1024 with 4XAA and 8tap+ AF :)

:lol: I'd bet quite a bit of money you wont be playing ANY game at that resolution and AA settings with a lot happening on screen. It would run well, but not at that resolution/settings.


Anyway, about the rig: looks very nice stryker. The only thing I'd suggest is to get 2 sticks of 256mb ram instead of one 512... Or better yet 2x512. :) It will perform better with it split up, always does.

Strygun
2003-03-26, 05:39 PM
Originally posted by powdahound
The only thing I'd suggest is to get 2 sticks of 256mb ram instead of one 512... Or better yet 2x512. :) It will perform better with it split up, always does.

How about a 512 and a 256?

Drex
2003-03-26, 05:48 PM
Originally posted by Stryker
How about a 512 and a 256?

Pretty sure if you are going with 2 sticks of ram they have to be the same amount of memory.

Strygun
2003-03-26, 05:51 PM
Drex - don't think so..

Radeon guys - DAAAAANG! i just looked @ prices for radeon's..they are 3x expensive as a geforce 4!!! ~$320 bucks for a 9700 pro (not all in wonder), and ~$180-200 for a geforce4.

Ok, I just found a 9700 pro for $271.00, so I subtracted the geforce from my total and added the radeon. I'm back up to $1253.89. GOOD GOSH! That's almost too much man!


Yikes!

Zatrais
2003-03-26, 05:54 PM
You don't need equal size chips... it's not an optimal solution tho... its generally the worst ram setup but it does work.

Trebor95
2003-03-27, 09:06 AM
Originally posted by powdahound
:lol: I'd bet quite a bit of money you wont be playing ANY game at that resolution and AA settings with a lot happening on screen. It would run well, but not at that resolution/settings.


Anyway, about the rig: looks very nice stryker. The only thing I'd suggest is to get 2 sticks of 256mb ram instead of one 512... Or better yet 2x512. :) It will perform better with it split up, always does.

Well to be quite frank .... I don't actually know what I am talking about :D really, I don't :eek:

I'm hoping to get a new card in the future for Planetside so I guess I am aiming for a highish resolution with some formof AA or AF :) probably not as high as that as you said :)

SpacemanSpiff
2003-03-27, 01:08 PM
Just make sure you get a decent monitor that can take all those res schemes with a decent refresh rate as well.

Strygun
2003-03-27, 04:19 PM
Ok, I have changed my memory to 2 256MB chips by corsair..

Memory - Corsair CMX256A-2700C2 256MB DDR333 PC2700 Memory w/Heat Spreader Retail (http://www.googlegear.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=80032-1)

Gammit10
2003-03-27, 09:56 PM
Excellent rig! It's VERY similar to mine, and I am very happy. I'm sure you'll be too.

Re: the change to two sticks of 256 MB RAM, good idea.

I would would suggest getting the ATI 9700 Pro. Even for about $100 more, it's definitely worth it. I owned the Ti4600 for about a weak before I found a good deal on the ATI (got a full refund on the NVIDIA). The speed increase was fantastic, and the ATI card is so much smaller, making installation much easier (and I have a pretty decent-sized case).

Strygun
2003-04-02, 04:09 PM
ok, changed ram back to 2 512MB (same link as in the first post)

Navaron
2003-04-02, 04:16 PM
Shog,

I'd get a 512 now, then update it later with another 512. Otherwise, you're stuck with 2 256s later, when you might be wanting 2 gigs of Ram (gotta think in the future).

As far as video cards, go with the 97pro. I have it and it rocks, but I look at it like this. It won't be obselete nearly as fast as the geforce. Plus you're gonna want dx9 unless you're planning on updating soon.