PDA

View Full Version : Lagging pretty much everywhere


AdamXJensen
2012-11-07, 08:39 PM
Just going to start off with my system specs:

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 11/7/2012, 21:30:59
Machine name: ANTHONY-PC
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.120830-0333)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
System Model: System Product Name
BIOS: BIOS Date: 04/14/10 21:01:23 Ver: 06.06
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 255 Processor (2 CPUs), ~3.1GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8192MB RAM
Page File: 2411MB used, 13969MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 2: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6719)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6719&SUBSYS_0B001002&REV_00
Display Memory: 1774 MB
Dedicated Memory: 2030 MB
Shared Memory: 3839 MB
Current Mode: 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: DELL 1905FP
Monitor Id: DEL400D
Native Mode: 1280 x 1024(p) (60.020Hz)
Output Type: DVI
Driver Name: aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,at icfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64 .dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a. cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1132 (English)
Driver Version: 8.980.0.0
DDI Version: 11
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 6/11/2012 12:23:12, 1090560 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-2459-11CF-DE77-0A2BBEC2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x6719
SubSys ID: 0x0B001002
Revision ID: 0x0000
Driver Strong Name: oem12.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.1:ati2mtag_NICayman:8. 980.0.0:pci\ven_1002&dev_6719
Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C


But basically I am never getting smooth frame rates anywhere, the biggest problem is during combat it is impossible to play unless its a small fight because of all the lag, I tried putting everything as low as possible and that kinda fixed it but there is still some bad lag during combat, but when there is no combat now my frame rate is kinda smooth -> any ideas?

Mutant
2012-11-08, 02:49 AM
Seems like your CPU is a bottleneck.

AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 255 is kicking along at the minimum spec level.
This is a 65W socket AM3 chip

If you have enough headroom in your PSU and your motherboard supports it you should be able to put an 9** X4 or 10** X6 in your machine, that would help improve your system for minimal cost, your GPU and RAM should be fine.

Check out ebay ect for 2nd hand stuff
http://www.ebay.com/sch/CPUs-Processors-/164/i.html?_nkw=amd+phenom&_dmpt=CPUs&Socket%2520Type=Socket%2520AM3&rt=nc

AdamXJensen
2012-11-08, 11:08 PM
Yeah I was afraid that was the problem, its worked for me so good with Battlefield 3 and some other games but I knew I would eventually have to upgrade to a quad core. There is a Micro Center near me I will check there for an AM3 socket processor, they have really good prices.

I also have a 750W Cooler Master PSU so I am pretty confident I got enough energy for a stronger processor. Thanks for the help.

MrSmegz
2012-11-08, 11:45 PM
Yeah I was afraid that was the problem, its worked for me so good with Battlefield 3 and some other games but I knew I would eventually have to upgrade to a quad core. There is a Micro Center near me I will check there for an AM3 socket processor, they have really good prices.

I also have a 750W Cooler Master PSU so I am pretty confident I got enough energy for a stronger processor. Thanks for the help.

If you live near a Microcenter, and have an extra bit of cash. Get the one of their i5 deals w/ $40 off the motherboard. They were selling i5-3550's last week for like $139, and Intel quad's will crush anything PS2 throws at them.

termhn
2012-11-11, 11:44 AM
If you live near a Microcenter, and have an extra bit of cash. Get the one of their i5 deals w/ $40 off the motherboard. They were selling i5-3550's last week for like $139, and Intel quad's will crush anything PS2 throws at them.
Yeah definitely do that if you've got the money. Or just save up a bit longer and do it, you'll thank yourself in the long run.