PDA

View Full Version : Afterburner nerf.

Meecrob
2012-12-16, 05:11 AM
As may be known im an advent reaver pilot. I have noticed that, even though it sais nothing about it in the patchnotes, the reaver's afterburner has been severely nerfed in the patch (from 300 to 214 in half a second, seriously?)

Now i've heard that this nerf was a mistake, but im not 2 sure. Can anyone enlighten me?

I'm asking because the reaver is just a joke in dogfights now. When you get picked out you feel like a sick animal of a herd, not being able to do anything vs your inpending doom.

Necronile
2012-12-16, 05:54 AM
Well the reaver supposed to be the slowest of aircraft in the game,
so thats why they nerfed it a bit.

Meecrob
2012-12-16, 06:28 AM
Well the reaver supposed to be the slowest of aircraft in the game,
so thats why they nerfed it a bit.

Well agreed, but "nerfed it a bit." is a understatement. The deceleration after using it atm is just unrealistic. Like i stated in the previous post 300kph to 214 in half a second. Even if u use your brakes you wont get that from any other speed.

I agree, and have seen all the posts about the reavers afterburner being OP because if you used it correctly you could sustain around 300 kph, but i guess there are more sutble ways to nerf it than just applying brakes after afterburner usage. (like less afterburner speed, less fuel etc etc.) the reaver just doesnt feel right now, and this saddens me, because it was a dream before.

Tooterfish
2012-12-16, 08:15 AM
Reavers are terrible, and you're right. Once you're picked, you're screwed. There is no running away in a Reaver and good Mosquito pilots are aware of this. Being an interceptor ESF for the NC is a waste of certs, unless you're confident your opponents have a far inferior specced ESF. If you're good, you can probably take one on, but two requires maneuverability, which we clearly don't have, and you'll be chasing one into the sunset while the other uses you for target practice.