PDA

View Full Version : MATHS: The relationship between XP and BR

Hovercraft
2012-12-18, 08:51 PM
As a statistician by trade, I enjoy messing around with numbers. So given some idle time earlier today, but away from my gaming rig so I couldn't actually play Planetside 2, I decided to have a go at reverse-engineering the mathematical relationship between XP and Battle Rank. It turned out to be rather more complicated than I was expecting, but I've tried to explain things as clearly and non-technically as possible. Read on, if you dare!

------------

Right, the first thing to do is simply pull the data for the cumulative XP needed to reach each BR from here (http://wiki.planetside-universe.com/ps/Battle_Rank) and plot one against the other.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/8165699/cumxp.jpeg

The amount of XP needed to get to the next BR increases with BR, as I'm sure everyone already knew. It's tempting to call it "exponential growth", but a couple of quick calculations proves it's not. Technically, exponential growth would be where the ratio of XP at each BR with the previous one is constant. Here we have e.g. BR3/BR2 = 1500/375 = 4, and BR4/BR3 = 3750/1500 = 2.5. Not constant. The curve looks too wiggly to be proper exponential growth anyway, and the gap between BR99 and BR100 is too big.

So if the difference in XP between successive BRs doesn't grow according to a constant ratio, how does it grow? Let's try plotting BR against the amount of XP needed to get to that BR from the previous one.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/8165699/diffxp.jpeg