PDA

View Full Version : Can My Sandy Bridge Board Run An Ivy Bridge Processor?


luvthesnapper
2012-12-20, 12:46 PM
I have an ECS H61H2-M2 mobo, and am looking to upgrade the cpu. I was looking at some ivy bridge and sandy bridge processors, and was wondering if I could drop an ivy bridge into this board. It says "for second generation chips" but its still the lga 1155 socket, right?

Rbstr
2012-12-20, 02:31 PM
You might have to update your bios first but it should work fine.

But what CPU do you have...I wouldn't recommend upgrading from a SB to an IB, the gain really isn't worth a whole new CPU.

Ailos
2012-12-22, 01:03 AM
Just make sure to flash your bios to the latest version (http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Product/Product_Detail.aspx?DetailID=1228&CategoryID=1&MenuID=103&LanID=0#Download-2) before dropping in a new chip. But more importantly, only upgrade the CPU if you're going from an i3 to an i5/i7. Anything else simply won't be worth your money.