PDA

View Full Version : Installed new ram - comp keeps rebooting


Bags
2013-03-07, 11:43 PM
Hey,

I had 2x4gb DDR3 1600 mhz ram and got 2 x 4gb DDR3 1600 mhz more, installed those, comp just reboots indefinitely until I turned off the power supply.

I made sure new ram was 100% snapped in.

took new ram out, PC runs fine.

do I need to RMA?

Ailos
2013-03-07, 11:49 PM
Are they still running at 1600 rates? Did your BIOS kick back to "safety get you home mode"? If the answer is yes and no (in that order) then I wouldn't worry about it.

Bags
2013-03-07, 11:51 PM
I can't get into bios. It whirs into life for a second, turns off, whirs, turns off. Repeated for like a minute until I turned the PSU off.

Silent Thunder
2013-03-08, 01:25 AM
Does it make any kind of beeping before it gets to Bios?

Bags
2013-03-08, 01:43 AM
Does it make any kind of beeping before it gets to Bios?

It doesn't get to bios.

ChipMHazard
2013-03-08, 05:15 AM
What does the mobo beep code sound like when you start it?
Have you tried just running with the new ram? If that doesn't work then try one of the new sticks one at a time.

Bags
2013-03-08, 11:21 AM
I don't recall, I'll have to run those tests tonight

Ailos
2013-03-08, 11:41 PM
Wait, I thought you said it works fine?

Yeah, troubleshoot the beep codes.