PDA

View Full Version : 800 Mhz PIII?


LJT
2003-04-02, 09:23 PM
I have a 800 Mhz PIII computer with a Radeon 9000 Pro 128 MB video card, 512 MB RAM, and a good sound card. Will I be able to play PlanetSide? I have no problem running UT2003 and BF1942 at full resolution. I really do not want to have to upgrade the processor, and I think that 800 Mhz should work. UT2003 recommends a 1 Ghz processor but like I said before I have no problems running it. Any help would be great.

OneManArmy
2003-04-02, 09:57 PM
well you're in luck my friend because planetsides minimum specs dont even call for a 1GHz anymore and you have enough ram and a decen graphics card so you should be good to go...

Zatrais
2003-04-03, 04:38 AM
hmm, where did you get that info OMA?

Most recent i know is this, from the stony online store

Platform:


Minimum Specs:


Windows® 98/2000/ME/XP
Pentium® III 1.0 GHz or greater
256 MB RAM
Direct3D compliant video card with 32MB RAM *
DirectX 8.1 compatible sound card
56k + Internet connection
4X speed CD-ROM
3.25 GB hard drive space
DirectX 8.1 or greater

OneManArmy
2003-04-03, 11:06 AM
hmm, I thought they updated the FAQ. well I am 100% positive I've heard it in a dev chat. I'll check any of the transcripts they have here on PSU.

SpaceDrake
2003-04-03, 01:23 PM
Nope. Minimum processor speed is still 1 ghz. But LTJ, that machine of yours will barely run ANYTHING anymore. It's upgrade time in the worst way.

LJT
2003-04-03, 04:07 PM
OneManArmy, can you find the post that contained the new specs? As far as I could find it looked like 1 Ghz was still the minimum. If I have to upgrade I will, this game is worth it. But it would mean waiting a month or more to get the funds and I would rather be playing PS.

Vimp
2003-04-03, 06:29 PM
I can't say for sure but if you can run UT2003 good at high res then I doubt you'll have much problem with PS. I have a PIII 700mhz with only 256 ram and a Geforce2 Pro 64mb and I can run UT2003 fairly well so I'm confident that PS will run even if it is a little slow.