PDA

View Full Version : Voice Chat/Microphone problems


Xanek
2013-08-04, 04:02 PM
I've been told by squadmates that my microphone is choppy, and at times they can't even hear me at all.
I have portforwarded the ports that are mentioned in this thread:
https://forums.station.sony.com/ps2/index.php?threads/what-ports-does-planetside-2-use-g37-g15-errors.54622/[1]
though it isn't working still, is there anyway to fix this?
Also, in-game TEST MIC button does nothing.. but record & playback works fine.

I have also deleted
PlanetSide2.exe
UserOptions.ini
SoundSettings.xml
LoadingScreen.xml
InputProfiles.xml
vivoxoal.dll
vivoxsdk.dll

and verified my files, though the test mic ingame still does nothing, is there anyway to tell or fix this problem?

DovahTerran
2013-08-05, 04:38 PM
IMO about the Test Mic thing: Whippity doo. Test your mic using Sound Recorder or the Recording Hardware GUI in Windows to test if it works. The PS2 Test Mic feature's been broken since Beta or earlier I think.

On the rest: How old is your soundcard? That could definitely be the issue. I ran quite a few different games with some clanmates a few months ago and my old soundcard decided to randomly pitter out and make my mic choppy when connected to the internet. It's not something you can avoid if your SC is out of date. Other than getting a new one, just hope it functions enough to play.

Update ALL of your sound-related drivers.

Test and check the hardware. Is there fuzz or dust in the mic? Is a cord frayed? Is the microphone port on your comp clean of debris?

Heck, open up your tower and check if there's dust at all near the sound card; even inside the tower in general.

If the reason isn't hardware-related.. It's your Internet connection most likely. Which in that case, oddly enough, will let you play but decides to think that transmitting VOIP is a bit too much to handle correctly. Fix for that? Get a new ISP or make sure all your router/modem/cordage is working right. Can't ever check enough.

That's my take on the situation. Hope it helps. :cheers:

Xanek
2013-08-06, 07:37 PM
I can use all other VOIP programs (i.e.-mumble, ventrillo, teamspeak, etc) without problem, though I keep on hearing my teammates saying that i'm cutting in and out.

I have an onboard soundcard, so it should be up to date if i recall, its just PS2 cutting in and out.

DovahTerran
2013-08-09, 12:20 PM
Huhm...

Perhaps deactivate your firewalls/antiviruses JUST to test the VOIP? If it functions while the firewall/antivirus is down, then it's something in your AV settings that's blocking it. It's on you from then on to figure out what's blocking it and how to open it back up.

Otherwise... I'd think to reset the input for your mic. In the PS2 Voice options, set the Input from your mic to something else, and back again. It seems to fix my voice problems pretty well, whenever my mic gets weird.