Improvement: Scythe Redesign - PlanetSide Universe
PSU Social Facebook Twitter Twitter YouTube Steam TwitchTV
PlanetSide Universe
PSU: All your balls are belong to us.
Home Forum Chat Wiki Social AGN PS2 Stats
Notices
Go Back   PlanetSide Universe > PlanetSide Discussions > PlanetSide 2 Idea Vault

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 3.67 average. Display Modes
Old 2012-06-23, 12:46 AM   [Ignore Me] #1
Sirisian
Colonel

Scythe Redesign

I personally do not like the direction the VS style has taken. To bring it back in line with the TR and NC designs with a more reserved technical side I'm proposing a visual change.

I'm not an artist so I just moved things around into the basic shape I'd prefer. Not sure if anyone is familiar with Stargate X-302? Basically I'm going with that dropped wing shape, but shorter to have a similar profile as the other fighters. I've also added a more classic tail design since I was not a fan of the original one.

I still kept the flat design and removed the giant top part which I don't think fit. I've kept the overlapping armor design though.

The only problem I see is it somewhat looks like a fish. This might need to be fixed by creating more detailed carvings into the top and sides. I'm not artistic enough to create those though.

Before (right click -> view image for full-size)

After

Any comments?
Old 2012-06-23, 12:51 AM   [Ignore Me] #2
Notturno
Private

Re: Scythe Redesign

First off, you are a total baller at Photoshop.

I like the improvements you made to it, particularly the addition of the tail. I think one of the big things that makes the Scythe looks weird is the fact that it's so... front heavy. The arm attachments and the lack of tail give it this funky shape that make it look like it isn't properly balanced. Essentially, I feel like it ruins the illusion of it actually being a flying aircraft. At the same time, I see why they did it as it flies more like a UFO than an actual plane.