Use of infiltrators in outfits. - PlanetSide Universe
PSU Social Facebook Twitter Twitter YouTube Steam TwitchTV
PlanetSide Universe
PSU: PSA: PlanetSide addicts annomous
Home Forum Chat Wiki Social AGN PS2 Stats
Notices
Go Back   PlanetSide Universe > PlanetSide Discussions > PlanetSide 2 New Player Questions

Old 2012-07-20, 10:36 AM   [Ignore Me] #1
Middi
Private

Use of infiltrators in outfits.

I'm new to the Planetside community and I am extremely interested in this game.

For a long time I've always enjoyed the idea of being apart of a small spec ops squad that infiltrates deep behind enemy line to do surveillance and to cause havoc, then once the main force attacks, our squad provides support and cover fire.

The problem with this is that I haven't had the opportunity to play a game where this type of gameplay is possible due to the lack of a frontline aka COD is a run around in circles shooting anything that moves, and BF is too fast paced for any surveillance to be useful when playing the "rush" game mode and "conquest" had a constantly changing frontline.

My question is how viable is the surveillance/long range sniper/shit disturber play style, what kind of tactics were infiltrators used for in PS1, and what tactics have outfits been brainstorming for infiltrators?
Old 2012-07-20, 10:55 AM   [Ignore Me] #2
Hosp
First Sergeant

Re: Use of infiltrators in outfits.

In PS1 cloakers weren't snipers as armors were more a weight class which determined inventory size and armor protection.

Cloaker (no armor)(only equip 1 small weapon or tool at a time with very little extra space)
Agile (Light Armor)(Equip 1 large weapon, 2 smalls + extra space)
Rexo (Heavy armor)(2 large, 2 smalls, + more extra space)

Any armor besides cloakers and MAXs could grab a sniper rifle. However most people who sniped in PS1 weren't partuclarly good at it. They grab it cus it's a nice strong weapon to whore some easy kills early on.