Are These PC Specs Good For PS2? - Page 3 - PlanetSide Universe
PSU Social Facebook Twitter Twitter YouTube Steam TwitchTV
PlanetSide Universe
PSU: Can I get SmokeJumper's addy?
Home Forum Chat Wiki Social AGN PS2 Stats
Notices
Go Back   PlanetSide Universe > General Forums > Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2012-06-07, 08:16 PM   [Ignore Me] #31
Goku
Contributor
PSU Moderator
 
Goku's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


Originally Posted by NivexQ View Post


I love my FX processor...
No one should be buying FX processors unless they are a total AMD fanboy or for whatever reason a task they have takes advantage of their new core approach.
Goku is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-07, 08:23 PM   [Ignore Me] #32
NivexQ
Contributor
First Sergeant
 
Misc Info
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


I got a stable 5.0 with my FX-8120, and I'm a super multitasker, so thats why i guess
__________________

NivexTR - TR - 30/5 - -=The Black Sheep=-
SYNxNivexQ - NC - 26/4 - [:::::SYN:::::]
NivexVS - VS - 19/2? - SYNDICATEVS?

http://www.twitch.tv/nivexq
I don't broadcast much, but you never know
NivexQ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-07, 09:11 PM   [Ignore Me] #33
Goku
Contributor
PSU Moderator
 
Goku's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


Originally Posted by NivexQ View Post
I got a stable 5.0 with my FX-8120, and I'm a super multitasker, so thats why i guess
And there you go. 5 GHz is a good clock!
Goku is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-07, 09:54 PM   [Ignore Me] #34
DEA
Corporal
 
DEA's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


LOL, AMD fanboys.

After all is said and done who cares what processor you have as long as you are happy and it plays the game you want to play yeah?
__________________

cyberneticpunks.com | Now Recruiting Members and Leadership
DEA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-07, 10:34 PM   [Ignore Me] #35
Whalenator
Second Lieutenant
 
Whalenator's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


Goku is this good enough?

i7 3770k Ivy Bridge
GTX 690 Quad SLI
LHCS-2X (Liquid Helium)
32GB DDR3 CorsairX RAM
__________________
>( 666th Devil Dogs )<
Alpha Tester: Tribes: Ascend Modder: Mount & Blade: Warband Player: Garry'sMod, Arma 2, Air Buccaneers Lover: Planetside

NC Brig. General ಠ_ರೃ
Whalenator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-07, 10:42 PM   [Ignore Me] #36
Goku
Contributor
PSU Moderator
 
Goku's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


Originally Posted by Whalenator View Post
Goku is this good enough?

i7 3770k Ivy Bridge
GTX 690 Quad SLI
LHCS-2X (Liquid Helium)
32GB DDR3 CorsairX RAM
Unfortunately no. With the delay of PS2 to 2015 your hardware is going to be way dated with the implementation of DX13.
Goku is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-07, 10:46 PM   [Ignore Me] #37
Whalenator
Second Lieutenant
 
Whalenator's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


But in all seriousness you think a GTX 560 Ti is good enough for PS2?
__________________
>( 666th Devil Dogs )<
Alpha Tester: Tribes: Ascend Modder: Mount & Blade: Warband Player: Garry'sMod, Arma 2, Air Buccaneers Lover: Planetside

NC Brig. General ಠ_ರೃ
Whalenator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-07, 10:51 PM   [Ignore Me] #38
Goku
Contributor
PSU Moderator
 
Goku's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


I think the GTX 560 Ti is still a very capable card as long as your are 1920x1080 or lower. Don't expect the highest graphic settings, but I bet it can handle the upper tier settings with the proper tweaking. I'm thinking with still having a 60+ FPS experience here. Maybe we could average lower then that with full settings, but I don't think eye candy trumps frames for a FPS game.
Goku is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-07, 11:15 PM   [Ignore Me] #39
Whalenator
Second Lieutenant
 
Whalenator's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


Originally Posted by Goku View Post
I think the GTX 560 Ti is still a very capable card as long as your are 1920x1080 or lower. Don't expect the highest graphic settings, but I bet it can handle the upper tier settings with the proper tweaking. I'm thinking with still having a 60+ FPS experience here. Maybe we could average lower then that with full settings, but I don't think eye candy trumps frames for a FPS game.
I only go 45 FPS, really. I've been using 60hz screens for as long as I can remember, I really don't mind choppy performance. I deal with it.
__________________
>( 666th Devil Dogs )<
Alpha Tester: Tribes: Ascend Modder: Mount & Blade: Warband Player: Garry'sMod, Arma 2, Air Buccaneers Lover: Planetside

NC Brig. General ಠ_ರೃ
Whalenator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-08, 05:14 AM   [Ignore Me] #40
Bags
Lieutenant General
 
Bags's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


Higby tweeted to someone a month or two ago that their system with an i5 and a 560 ti was "bitching".
__________________
Bags is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-08, 06:38 PM   [Ignore Me] #41
Aaron
Contributor
Sergeant Major
 
Aaron's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


Hey Goku, I need a little help. Alright, so I got everything connected correctly (I believe), but I'm not getting a POST beep or a signal for the monitor. However, the motherboard did come with a separate internal speaker, but I don't know where to connect it. The manual wasn't much use. Have any idea? http://desmond.imageshack.us/Himg17/...pg&res=landing

I'm pretty sure I have the CPU correctly installed. I took off the fan again to check. http://desmond.imageshack.us/Himg442...pg&res=landing

Some other images:
http://desmond.imageshack.us/Himg138...pg&res=landing
http://desmond.imageshack.us/Himg28/...pg&res=landing

The motherboard light comes on and all the fans are spinning, but no beep(maybe because the little speaker isn't installed) and no signal for the monitor.

There was also a 20+4 pin connector. I snapped off the 4-pin part for the CPU, and used the other 20-pin part for the motherboard. The motherboard still gets enough power, right? I think it says I can do that in the manual at least.

Thanks!
__________________

Last edited by Aaron; 2012-06-08 at 06:46 PM.
Aaron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-08, 06:49 PM   [Ignore Me] #42
Goku
Contributor
PSU Moderator
 
Goku's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


The 20+4 pin needs to go into the 24 pin power connector together. There should be a 8 pin that comes apart that forms 2 4 pin connectors. Use one of those to put in where you have the 4 pin that goes with the 20 pin.
Goku is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-08, 06:54 PM   [Ignore Me] #43
Aaron
Contributor
Sergeant Major
 
Aaron's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


Oh my gosh, I love you. That seemed to work xD

I'll let you know If I run into anything else.
__________________
Aaron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-08, 06:58 PM   [Ignore Me] #44
Goku
Contributor
PSU Moderator
 
Goku's Avatar
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


You're welcome.
Goku is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2012-06-08, 08:44 PM   [Ignore Me] #45
IIILSDIII
Private
 
Re: Are These PC Specs Good For PS2?


the 2130 is a better option because of the slightly higher clocks for not a lot more money... you may also wanna try for a 2 gig model due to the larger draw distances needed for the maps...
but yeah even if your on a tight budget stay away from amd unless you have an am3 board already and in that case, get a 960t as theres more than a 50% chance that you will be able to unlock it to six working cores. if your board supports unlocking.
but im glad to see the op managed a good build and has it working...

Last edited by IIILSDIII; 2012-06-08 at 08:45 PM.
IIILSDIII is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply
  PlanetSide Universe > General Forums > Tech Forum

Bookmarks

Discord

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.

Content © 2002-2013, PlanetSide-Universe.com, All rights reserved.
PlanetSide and the SOE logo are registered trademarks of Sony Online Entertainment Inc. © 2004 Sony Online Entertainment Inc. All rights reserved.
All other trademarks or tradenames are properties of their respective owners.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.